Jewish Iraqi Music

'The Midrash BEN ISH HAI Message and Discussion Area': Jewish Culture and Music: Jewish Iraqi Music
 SubtopicMsgs  Last Updated

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  

Ami Yares (Ayares)

Wednesday, March 07, 2001 - 04:33 pm Click here to edit this post
I am a Rutgers University student researching the use of Judeo Iraqi music in the Jewish Community. If you are aware of, or participate in activities pertaining to Judeo Iraqi music, I would be honored to hear about your experience. Any other inquiries are welcomed.
thanks

Ami
amiyares@eden.rutgers.edu

Haim salman (Haimsalman)

Friday, March 09, 2001 - 02:51 am Click here to edit this post
dear Ami
well Jewish Iraqi Music is very reach. I am Hazzan at Beth Keneseth Yosef Haim in Jerusalem where we do every thing according to the tradition of Iraqi Jews. especialy Keri'at Hatora and all the Piyyutim during the whole year and in special events as Nissu'im Berith Mila etc.
we sing a lot of Piyyutim and every Piyyut has its special tune.
if this is what you ask about I'll be glad to continue corresponding with you
Poorim Sameh
Haim Salman

Ami Yares (Ayares)

Monday, March 12, 2001 - 08:19 pm Click here to edit this post
Haim -- Thank you for responding. right now my research is only focusing on the Iraqi Jews of America. However, if you know of any Iraqi Jews living near New York city, I would be honored to speak with them. If I travel to Israel soon, I would like to attend services at Beth Keneseth Yosef Haim. thank you
b'shalom
Ami Yares

Haim salman (Haimsalman)

Monday, March 12, 2001 - 11:16 pm Click here to edit this post
dear Ami
I would be glad to read about some of the Iraqi jewish music that you have already know. I mean Piyyutim and Ta'amey Hamikra.
Haim

Yvonne (Yvonne)

Wednesday, March 21, 2001 - 02:07 pm Click here to edit this post
Dear Ami,